Untitled design 23.59.26.png

US House of Representatives

The United States House of Representatives is the lower chamber of the United States Congress, the legislature of the US federal government. Article One of the United States Constitution empowers the House to legislate and sets the number of representatives at 435. Aside from 435 members apportioned to 50 states by census results, 6 additional non-voting “delegates” represent the federal district of Washington, D.C., and 5 other US territories. Members serve 2-year terms and are elected using a first-past-the-post electoral system. The House of Representatives has the unique powers of initiating all revenue bills, electing the president if no candidate reaches a majority of the votes in the Electoral College, and impeaching federal officials. The House of Representatives meets in the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C., and is in session from January to the January of the next year.

Under-Secretary-General: Alp Ünal Ayhan

Academic Assistant: Zühtü Anıl Tutar

Agenda Item: Open Agenda


*This committee is apt for experienced delegates.