The European Parliament is the backbone of the European Union for political debates and decision-making and also serves as the second legislative organ of the EU. While the European Parliament serves a structure that is directly under the constitution of the European Union, the Council of Europe maintains its sovereignty and is not to be confused with the parliament. The European Parliament originally gathered as the Common Assembly of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), which consisted of 78 representatives from the original 6 member states at the time. The assembly first met on September 10th1952 and had no legislative powers but over time, the institution, has undergone extensive and thorough changes: evolving from an assembly which held no powers and consisted of assigned members, to an elected parliament that is recognized as a political agenda-setter of the European Union.


The main functions of the European Parliament are described under the Article 14 of the 2010 Lisbon Treaty which reads: "The European Parliament shall, jointly with the Council, exercise legislative and budgetary functions. It shall exercise functions of political control and consultation as laid down in the Treaties. It shall elect the President of the Commission."  Under the legislative powers; the Council and the Parliament are responsible of adopting EU legislations in a wide range of issues such as economic governance, immigration, energy, transport, the environment and consumer protection while the budgetary powers authorizes the council and the parliament to constitute and monitor the implementation of the annual EU budget for its expenditures and revenues. Aside from these, the Parliament also has supervisory, appointing and monitoring authority over the European Commission, Council of Ministers and the Presidency of the Council.

Under-Secretary-General: İkbal Baş

Academic Assistant: İlkin Özdemir

Crisis Assistant: Şebnem Yaren

Agenda Item: Open Agenda


*This committee is apt for intermediate level and experienced delegates.