The Bretton Woods Agreement, negotiated in July 1944, established a new international monetary system which was developed by delegates from 44 countries at the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference held in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire. Under the Bretton Woods agreement, other currencies were pegged to the value of the U.S. dollar, which, in turn, was pegged to the price of gold. The principal objectives of the Agreement were to create an efficient foreign exchange system, prevent competitive devaluations of currencies, and promote international economic growth.


Under the supervision of the primary designers of the system British economist John Maynard Keynes and American Harry Dexter White, the chief international economist of the U.S. Treasury Department, Conference will try to establish a powerful global central bank and issue a new international reserve currency besides lending fund and a greater role for the U.S. dollar. In BoğaziçiMUN 2020, delegates in Bretton Woods Conference will have a chance to design one of most important and dominant international monetary systems in the highly complex and strenuous atmosphere of the Post-WWII world.

Under-Secretary-General: Gökhan Şeheri

Academic Assitant: Selen Sözen

Agenda Item: Ensuring the Stability of World Economies and Setting Up a New System of Rules, Regulations, and Procedures for a New International Monetary System


*This committee is apt for advanced level delegates.